allyberg’s blog

a simple life

Thankful #1 November 23, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — allyberg @ 8:4 7

Since it’s the week of Thanksgiving…I want to spend it posting the people and things that I am especially thankful for!!  So this post is a shout out to my friends.   Just this morning I reconnected with a long lost childhood friend.  (thank you facebook)  Her mom was one of my mom’s best friends.  She was in fifth grade when she lost her mom to cancer.  I was 23 when I lost mine.  None the less…we spent a lot of time together as kids and then she moved, and I moved…and time passed.  She was still there for me when my mom passed away.  And today, this holiday season, I was gifted a piece of my mom.  Thank you, Melissa,  for finding me on facebook and letting me share how much like family you were  to me growing up.  This morning’s conversation was more of a gift than you can know.

So here is my challenge to you.  Is there anyone in your past or present that you need to thank?  Is there a friend that you may not have talked to (even for no particular reason) that you need to thank today for their role in your life? I do…I have several!  So I will start…

Thank you Krista, Hillary, Katie, Marcy, Brandi, Marla, Chris, Tricia, Valli, Christianne, Julianne, Melissa, Cyndi, Marilyn, Mandy,  Bob, Robin, and the list goes on and on…but thank you from the bottom of my heart for the role you have played in pushing me toward Jesus!

Thanks to my memory keeping sister, here is a picture of Melissa and I with our sixth grade teacher…be kind as you see me as an awkward little girl!

 

6 Responses to “Thankful #1”

  1. Seester Says:

    Evie,

    That was a wonderful walk down memory lane. Swimming in Melissa’s and Mindy’s swimming pool all summer and walking back and forth between our houses, playing hide-n-seek through the neighborhood….

    I’m thankful for Allyson Eve, Joyce, Lisa, Wendy, Heather, Heather, Sandy, Bob and Robin, my momma, Ken and Stacy, Teena, Amy, Shannon, Tara, Brenda….and on and on and on. I am so thankful for the part of the path I got to walk with each of you!!!

  2. love that photo!!! so cute.

    i’m thankful that you all chose to take a risk and move to nashville. i know it wasn’t an easy decision but my life is better because you all choose to follow God’s calling.

    thankful for you!

  3. Melissa waltz Says:

    HI Ally talking to you this morning made my day! It was so nice to talk to someone who knew my mother and who has some of the same wonderful memories long forgotton.My mother has been gone for almost 22 years sometimes it seems like a different life but not today you have put a smile on my face. I am so thankful to have found you and Krista after all these years.I have thought of you both often. Love you lots Melissa
    (Oh my gosh that picture of me is awful)

  4. marla Says:

    I am soooo thankful for you too! Your whole family has such a blessing every member of our family.
    Great post reminding us to not just think it-do it.
    I have often said if I would only do all the thoughtful things I have thought of, I would win a noble peace prize!
    Thanks girl!

  5. Trish Says:

    Ally,

    Reading this and thinking about our talk on the beach about your mom this thought just came to me…. When I think about being thankful for YOU and who God created you to be words such as joyful, funny, loyal and loving come to mind. You display these attributes through how you daily live your life! I believe these are the same words you used to describe your mom! Your mom’s legacy lives on through you. She has given us and the world the gift of YOU and for THAT I am grateful!
    Love you Friend! ~Trish

  6. Trish Says:

    Oh… and nice glasses! Sorry I couldn’t resist! 😉


Leave a Reply

