allyberg’s blog

a simple life

Are you ready for this! February 6, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — allyberg @ 8:4 7

Alright…so I have to let you all know how my grocery experience went this week!  I only did a few things different, and turns out-it REALLY made a difference!

First of all, and I have done this since the birth of our third daughter, I wrote out a two week menu and corresponding grocery list!  This time, cause I really wanted to spend the least amount possible, I did things like tacos one day and then a few days later, taco soup with the leftover taco meat.  I also did chili and then a few days later, frito chili wraps.  This probably made a difference in the amount that I spent.

Then, I decided to switch to dry milk.  We are not huge milk drinkers.  I use milk in recipes, and the fam uses it in their cereal, but that is about it!  So I decided to try it, and the fam didn’t complain!  I personally haven’t tasted it, cause milk doesn’t agree with my body!  But the rest of the family was okay with the switch!  A box of the powder was about $5 and I have a feeling it will last our family about two weeks!

The thing I did that made the biggest difference was doing majority of my shopping at ALDIS!  This is a small grocery store where you have to bag your own groceries and pay a quarter ( that you get back at the end of your shopping experience!) to get a shooping cart.  Also, if you plan on trying it out…bring your own grocery bags or you will pay six cents a piece for theirs! What I couldn’t get there I bought at Kroger…who knows if I had gone to Walmart!!!  🙂

So here is the grand total!  For two weeks of groceries, including fabric softener, detergent, paper towels, and dishwasher tabs…I spent $160!!!  That would be $85 a week, $12.15 a day, $4.05 per meal!  And that is for a family of six!  WOW!  I must say…I am very proud of myself!  If you all are interested…I will post my breakfast, lunch and dinner menus (snacks too if you are interested)!

I am still reading all of your ideas as you send them to me!  This is almost like a gme for me!  I am going to continue to try to see how cheap I can shop for and still eat as healthy as we possibly can!

I can’t believe my whole family can eat for so little…makes me convicted to spend less so we can give more!  We use to spend around $150 a week.  We could take almost half of what we have budgeted per week for groceries and give it to someone who needs it more!  Wow…I am excited!

 

10 Responses to “Are you ready for this!”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Ally–I am encouraged by reading what you are doing with your family. Not only are you blessing your own family with your new plan but you are able to bless others that are in need. That is what it is all about! As I read your comments I think back to the Proverbs 31 woman and how she ministers to her family and those around her. You are striving to be that woman. Keep up the good work. May God continue to bless your family and your efforts. 🙂

  2. Heidi Says:

    WOW! I’m sooooo inspired! I spend over $200 a week and I’ve GOT to get disciplined. I hate grocery shopping and meal planning, so not my gift, but God has put me here…so I need to! Yes please send me your menu list! You amaze me girl!

  3. Julianne Says:

    Way to go girl. Just wait until summer. Plant a garden this spring on your new place… Yummy I can taste the tomatoes now.

  4. Makenzie Says:

    That’s great! I’m trying to trim our grocery budget too. Baking your own bread also saves alot of money! I make 2 loaves at a time and freeze one. (Although I’m sure yall go through a lot more bread than Chris and me!) I also got a starter to make yogurt but I haven’t tried it yet. I think Knoxville’s getting an Aldi but it will be so far away I don’t know if we’ll go. I second Julianne as well- I’m planting tomatoes on our balcony this summer! I’d like to see how you plan your menus… I need to get better at that! Love you!

  5. Ashley Says:

    I would love to see your menu.

    I am aiming to find the deals our grocers offer on meats and then plan our meals around them. I’ve always planned the meals and then shopped.
    This week, one local grocer had a deal that if you bought one package of steaks, you got two free. For $17, I purchased ten thick, great steaks. We can eat on those for a month 🙂

  6. Rene' Says:

    Actually if you spent $160 for 2 weeks (14 days) that would be $80 a week! $11.33 a day and $3.77 a day.

  7. Jenni Catron Says:

    Wow! Will you shop for me? 🙂

  8. Heather Kay Says:

    I love ALDI’s! I have been shopping there for a couple of years now. The quality on their dairy, produce, and freezer can not be beat. I comp shopped all of our other choices (Wal-Mart, Target, Dollar General, etc.) and ALDI beat them all. I love their frozen veggies, fish, and chicken. The only thing I do not buy from them is canned veggies or spaghetti sauce type stuff. The veggies will occasionally have a hard one and the other stuff is just to generic tasting. If you like chocolate they have the best milk chocolate candy bars at the checkout (in the blue wrapper). My kids and I share one if they have been helpful while we shop. ; )
    Have a great day!
    Heather Kay

  9. Traci Langford Says:

    Ally,
    I would love to see your menus. I have two hungry kids and husband.
    Thanks,
    Traci Langford


Leave a Reply

