allyberg’s blog

a simple life

Pinching Pennies! January 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — allyberg @ 8:4 7

So I am motivated to have the cheapest grocery budget ever!!!  I know with four growing children and two adults I might be unrealistic, but I am going to try anything!  (even baking my own bread!)  I am not a baker, but I am going to give in a shot!  I figured I get to stay at home and be with my family all day, I can do something to help out!!!  So I am asking you all out there…what does your monthly grocery budget look like?  Tell me on average what you spend and how many are in your family!  I want to cut it down to maximum $100 a week!  Feel like it can happen, not sure how!  Thanks in advance for any advice you might have for this “tight-wod” mom!!!

 

8 Responses to “Pinching Pennies!”

  1. this is something i battle constantly… unfortunately i spend about $150-$175 a week. i’m looking for helpful suggestions too so i’ll be checking back to see what everyone else has to say!

  2. Carmen Cook Says:

    Hey!
    Check this lady out: http://www.alifeathome.blogspot.com

    $300/mth including non-food goods. I only spend a few dollars more than that….just kidding. We’re working on it to!

  3. Lisa Clouse Says:

    I have resorted to making my own laundry detergent. It does not work quite as well as the Tide that I used to use; however, I have learned “secrets” to boost the cleaning power. I also use white vinegar as my fabric softener now (way cheaper than Downy). If you are interested in making your own detergent go to the Soaps Gone By website. There is a recipe on their website. A little of this detergent goes a LLOONNGG way. You only have to use 2-3 TBS per load. I “boost” it’s cleaning power with a little extra Washing Soda. I order all my supplies to make my detergent from the Soaps Gone By website. Our detergent lasts for about 6-9 months now. (Remember though that we only have two people here now!) I still buy stain spray and bleach at the grocery but I have found that making my own detergent has saved us some $$. Also, I subscribe to Debt Proof Living which is a great resource for cheap recipes, articles on how to save $$, etc. If you send me your address, I’ll make sure that you get a subscription. I have found it to be quite helpful over the years. (I have been getting it since way before our kids left home.) Hope these suggestions come in handy and help you out in your quest to be a “tight wad” Momma! 🙂

  4. Krista Says:

    Oh sister, call your brother-in-law. We tend to spend $100/ week in groceries. Greg knows the drill. Two things that have helped us: 1. We write out a grocery list and don’t venture from the list when we go shopping. 2. We have a grocery money envelope. Greg pulls out the grocery money for the week and puts it into the envelope. That way, we can only spend what we have and then we can’t go over. Sometimes there is no money in the envelope and we have to “clean out the pantry”. Greg is amazing at making up meals with whatever he finds. Remember how you, HIllary and I used to make meals for her parents:) Let the girls clean out the pantry every once in a while….well, there is my big sister advice for the day. Love you!!!!

  5. Hi! I just found your blog. Oddly, I met you and your husband last year (or something like that). I’m sure you dont’ remember because I barely do. I just know he was the ‘pinch the tit’ guy. I’m sure you get that a lot. I think I may have met you at the Amarillo airport or something. My husband works with Chris Condit (ring a bell?) and you were going to breakfast with him (or something).
    Anyways, I am on the same train as you. We only have 2 children, but I am aiming to cut down the grocery bill. I’ll teach you what I learn along the way, if you will teach me 🙂
    Did you see Oprah the other day? That is what got me motivated. http://www.cuponmom.com
    Also, I, too, make my own detergent. I also use vinegar with my whites because it really brightens them up. Also, I use vinegar in the dishwasher. I fill the little thing you close with detergent and the open one with vinegar. It works great! Plus, it makes dishwashing detergent last twice as long.
    I am about to become a money saving momma! Can’t wait to hear all of the tricks you learn, as well!
    Glad to find your blog.
    Ashley

  6. Heather Kay Says:

    Hi! I came over from a comment on Whittaker Woman’s blog.
    A great website http://grocerycartchallenge.blogspot.com/
    Blessings!
    Heather Kay

  7. Hi! He is adorable! 🙂
    I love this post… I think I am going to do one myself. You have a lot of good comments and idea’s. I need to work on this. I have done grocerygame before and it has worked great. But in California they tend to double more coupons, so it is not as dramatic here in GA. I am however needing to get on the band wagon. We in the past have done a rice night were we only eat rice for dinner, I flavor it some, but only rice and we give the rest of the money to Compassion food drive. It helps make the kids understand a little better which gives me freedom in the junk food isle! Nice to meet you! 🙂 H

  8. We do about $100 a week… but it is just 2.5 of us. 🙂


Leave a Reply

